Stating My Brief

Let the trumpets blare: This is my first blog on my brand new deluxe author’s website. Tra la la!

Never having blogged before, I am naturally reading lots of stuff online and getting to know the work of fellow travelers in the blogosphere. I have even looked at a few self-help articles for bloggers.

One of the imperatives of blogging, they say, is to be brief. Net surfers hop from site to site and do not have the time or inclination to tarry for long. One should therefore write bite-sized nuggets in the traditional pyramid style of the old, nearly obsolete medium of newspapers, with the most important information contained in a catchy lead and the less important stuff following after, according to its priority.

I am sure this is good advice and I plan to follow it. But writing short, and doing it well, is not as easy as one might be led to believe. As Mark Twain said (or was reputed to have said; Twain is sort of like Yogi Berra, always getting credit for things he probably never said), “I don’t have the time to be brief.” Writing short and well can take a long time. Anyone can be sketchy and shallow and formulaic. The trick is to be brief—and interesting. Boring your readers is a far greater sin than taking their time.

Two vows: I promise never to overstay my welcome in this blog. And, to the best of my abilities, I promise to be interesting, stimulating, entertaining and compelling (and when I am not, I encourage you to let me know about it in the comments section. But for heaven’s sake, please be brief!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventures in Writing, Priceless Writing Tips for Free

Leave a Reply

